I WANT TO LIVE IN A VAN

Tyler Zimmerman
3 min readNov 21, 2020

It seems like it might be a little extreme. We have all seen YouTube or IG, the people who are living their best life, in a van down by the river or up on the mountain. Well, I would like to do that.

I don’t have an online job to be able to separate myself from my work, so I still must go in to the office, and I travel on a regular basis. So here are a list of my thoughts, a pros and cons list if you will as to why I want to buy van.

  1. A really outfitted van with everything you could possibly want is still multiple hundred thousand less than a house, at least in my area of the country.
  2. I can take my kids on weekend trips and be outside with them, exploring, hiking and riding bikes. Just being kids, doing what kids did when we didn’t have so many distractions. Creating memories.
  3. I can retire earlier and spend my time traveling the country doing the things that I want to do. Writing, photography, mountain bikes, and hikes.
    I can just live.
  4. I can go somewhere and stay for a night or stay for a week. I go to a ski resort and not worry about making those reservations and plans. I can stay because the conditions got good.
  5. I can get a dog.

To all the hopes and dreams of this amazing van life that is portrayed to us in video and pics, there is always the down side and that has to be thought of as well.

  1. There is no equity in a van because it will wear out in time and need to be fixed or replaced.

--

--

Tyler Zimmerman

Creating my own life through words / Self-Improvement / Life observationist / Adventurer / Find more content @ TylerZimmerman.com