One Good Decision In My Life

The rest are still up for debate, but they have gotten me here

Tyler Zimmerman
6 min readApr 26, 2021
Photo by JuniperPhoton on Unsplash

Do you ever wonder if you’re making the right decisions?
I am constantly at battle with the thoughts of whether or not I ever make the right decisions. Only once in my life have I made a decision, and then a day or maybe a few months later, I think to myself, that was an excellent decision.

It started with college after high school. I never wanted to go to college, but we should do that. Or at least if you wanted a good job. This was a constant during the late ’90s; we didn’t yet have the entrepreneurial proof that is out there today. After high school comes college, I just knew that you figure out what to do with the next 40 years while you are there.

Well, I spent a year suffering through the applied learning, no direction, no idea of what I wanted to be when I grew up. After deciding to drop out, I returned home to see if I could figure it out.

The parents were on me very quickly, letting me know that if I didn’t want to be in school, I would have to find a job and begin paying rent. If you aren’t going to learn in the classroom, you will learn through life experience.

I accepted that and found a job framing houses. My girlfriend also quit college, we were in…

--

--

Tyler Zimmerman

Creating my own life through words / Self-Improvement / Life observationist / Adventurer / Find more content @ TylerZimmerman.com